WELCOME to the website of the League of Women Voters of Georgetown County. We are proud to have been active within this coastal community since 1981. Our continued focus on voting rights, voter education, open access to government and on issues of public concern have strengthened our reputation as a respected and effective participant in the American political process.

In an era when the political process is all too often driven by special interests, the League's advocacy is an essential element to promote the voice of democracy. Add your voice to ours: "Democracy works when people claim it as their own." (Bill Moyers - The Nation, Jan. 22, 2007)

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We are political, but nonpartisan. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

Contact the League or ask a question


Or mail to P.O. Box 18, Georgetown SC 29442

Type yoWelcomeur paragraph here.

We usually meet on the third Monday of each month, September through May and sometimes in summer, at 11:30 a.m. at Applewood Pancake House in Litchfield. Feel free to join us.

Next meeting is Aug. 21 at 11:30 a.m. at Applewood Pancake House in Litchfield.

Use this website for information on how and where to register to vote, under the voter registration and elections tab.

Find who your elected public servants are and how to contact them under the elected public servants tab.

Watch this page for notices of elections and who the candidates are.

Next up:

All three towns have elections this year on Nov. 7. Andrews and Pawleys Island have nonpartisan elections; Georgetown has partisan elections.

A Democratic Party primary runoff in the mayor's race in Georgetown will be held June 27 between incumbent Mayor Jack Scoville and incumbent council member Brendan Barber. 

Filing for the nonpartisan elections is open Aug. 1-15. We will post here those who have filed to run. If you are having a public forum or candidate event, feel free to notify us. We will share it as long as it is open to all.

Here are those who have filed to run in Georgetown:

In the June 13 primary, Jermaine Collins and Marth Tennant were eliminated. The winner of the primary will face a Republican candidate on the November ballot.

Mayor, Republicans: Ron Charlton

Council, Democrats (three seats open): Rudolph A. Bradley, Tupelo Humes, Marty Tennant

Council, Republicans: Carol Jayroe (incumbent), Ed Kinbrough (incumbent), Jerry M. Miller